Hair Grass dying and i'm not sure why

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Alex L

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello,

I'm pretty new to the world of aquarium, so I hope you guys can help me. I have a 20g planted tank and it's only 1 month old. Some of the hair grass is dying.

Tank size is 30Lx12Wx12H, I'm using ADA aqua soil with power sand at bottom. The substrate is 2 inch height. I have a DIY co2 pumping 1 bubble every 3 seconds. The lighting system is one 24" T5HO bulb (with reflector) placed 2 inch above water which I keep it on for only 8 hours a day.

I have 3x siamese algae eaters, 20x cardinal tetras and 9x ghost shrimps in the tank at the moment.

Currently it's planted with hair grass, baby tears, and java moss.

Nitrate and nitrite are around 0 to .5, PH is 7. Water tempter is 76 degrees.

I do use fertilizer once a week. Currently, there are some green algae on the driftwood. I notice there are some brown algae spot growing on the glass which I clean them every 2 days. some baby tear leaves and grass have brown algae on them and I'll try to cut the tips. Currently, I change 20% water once a week.

I see some grass shooting new runners, but about 40% other grass just turns brown. I bought a new pot of grass, after 3 days, nearly 70% will turn brown. What am I doing wrong?

Also, regarding the algae issue, should I keep the light on for a shorter time?

Your setup sounds similar to mine in that i too have diy co2 2-3sec. per bubble and t5 ho lighting. I have just plain Tahitian moon sand as substrate though. My dhg died off at first, about 40% turned yellowish brown but after acclimating to submerged it did fine. My lights are also on about 8hrs a day. I would think because your dwarf baby tears doing ok so would the dhg? Wish i knew more so i could help.