Hello =D

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jessipanda

Aquarium Advice Freak
Just registered today, but I've been following posts on this site for around a year now. I figured it was about time to join!

I'm new to the hobby, and originally got started because my daughter loves fish. We started with a small 2.5g tank of 3 goldfish she won from a fair in 2011. They lived for a little over two years before we had a horrible accident that cost them their lives... We had gone out of town for 2 weeks and asked a neighbor to look after them for us. Long story short, the neighbor was lazy, bought some kind of food release tabs, stuck a bunch in the tank and never returned. By the time we got home, the tank was coated with a cloudy orange-ish color and two fish were dead. The third was barely alive, floating sideways at the top gasping for air. I ended up putting that one out of its misery...

My daughter was heartbroken and didn't ask for fish again until about a year ago. I told her that I would do some research and figure out what we can manage.