Hello my name is Becky and I'm new.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Natrualbeauty22

Aquarium Advice Activist
I Think it's fair to say I'm new to proper fish keeping. Lol! I've had this built in 55 gallon for about 10 years. It's housed unsuccessful tropicals , ( back then i didn't know they needed a heater amongst many other mistakes) robo hamsters. I even rescued a very large gold fish from a foreclosed house down the street. The people just left it behind to die. I had no money at the time so I took large landscape rocks from my yard and purchased a filter. I had that fish for 6 years! I have a neighbor who is a hobby fish keeper and gave me more beautiful gold fish to add. I did filter changes once a month but failed to do proper water changes and when pets mart discontinued my filter and filter pads I didn't change the filter in time. I lost all of them all in one day! :( now I have an empty 55 gal wall tank and only a dream. I have done so much research and have become a bit obsessed with doing it right this time! My lack of funds has made me take my time. I'm not jumping into this and little by little This tank will be better than it ever was! I look forward to getting your advice and getting to know all of you!ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1412125157.897538.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Thanks! I'm going planted tropical. I've been buying a little here a little there. I have to start all over. I'm going with a canister system this time.

Good size tank, best of luck this time! ?

If I had that gorgeous tank, I would dream of the fish/ aquarium I wanted, but only but plants and substrate and the regular stuff, get it fully cycled and then think about what order to add my dream fish ( of course looking to make sure they are compatible). Oh I am so envious of your tank, just beautiful.