Hello, New member here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nighteyes

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone excited to be a member...I have a 55 gallon saltwater tank I am just getting started put my live rock in last night to start my cycle. I had a saltwater tank many, many years ago but forgot a lot of what I had to do. Will appreciate any help you all can give me.

:welcome:Hey there night eyes!! Welcome to the forum. You will recieve tons of great informative help here. Make sure that your tank completes a full cycle before you add any fishies to it! :flowers:

Thanks Shark Bait and I am doing just that. The only thing that I was questioning about that is the live rock I purchased is completely cured they say I have been checking my ammonia everyday and it has been 2.0 not getting any higher, so I am wondering if it goes to 0 and holds out there for 3 days do you think it's safe to say it's cycled?

No Ma'am, I made that same assumption with my first SW and lost a few fish. :( A true cycle normally takes 3 weeks to complete. With live and cured rock, your tank may try to "trick you" into thinking it's cycled. Then randomly you might get a spike in ammonia and fish will suffer. To be safe i'd wait till you hit at least the 2 1/2 week mark (Long time I know :/) to be completely sure your water is safe :)

make sure to check your nitrite and nitrate levels also. ammonia should go down and nitrites rise then nitrites go down and nitrates rise. when the nitrites reach zero you should be good to go! make sure to add animals slowly ( amount not speed lol) and keep an eye on the ammonia and nitrite. Good luck!

Hmmm I was wondering about that. Well I surely appreciate the advice and will definitely wait the 3-4 weeks I was thinking of doing originally :) Thanks again and will let you know how I make out!!