Hello

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

vettech

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone! I am a newbie to fish keeping, unless you count my 2g Betta tank and my .5g tank for my African dwarf frogs. I was recently given a very nice 75g tank with all the equipment and the current residents. The tank is housing as of now a 18" rhino pleco, 2 8" Siamese algae eaters (all 3 of these fish are 15-16 yrs old), and a 2" skunk loach who's age I do not know. I am a veterinary technician and avid animal lover so my first priority was the well-being of the current residents. I have had this tank for almost 4 weeks now, the only modifications I have made include completely cleaning the tank when I first took over ownership and replacing the gravel. I have added 2 artificial plants and have just been patient in letting the tank cycle. I kept 25g of the original water and transported it in 5g buckets with the fish and tank when I got this setup. Last night I tested the water and my nitrites all of a sudden are 0 but the nitrates are still high. So does this mean I should do a partial water exchange? If so, how much should I do? :smilecolros: The water has become slightly cloudy, it happened before and resolved on it's own so I figured it was part of the Nitrogen Cycle. Can the current cloudyness be normal? Are these tank symptoms a sign that the cycle is ending?

What color is the cloud? If it's white, you're likely in the middle of a bacteria bloom, and that would also mesh with the high nitrates in my experience (not that I have a HUGE amount, but I've got three tanks running now so I've got some recent empirical experience to work with.)

Depending on HOW high your nitrates are, you probobly do want to do a water change. That being said, what's it registering at, and what's your ammonia doing?