HELP! German Blue Ram Fry!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lb8953

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello!

I am new to GBR Breeding and I have two blue rams who have been breeding. They are relatively small adult rams in a 70Litre tank. When i noticed eggs i took out the other gbr tank mates and left the parents. They have been really good parents so far! the eggs hatched on the 25th of November and while i was away for the weekend i noticed this morning they have become free swimming. Theres loads of them, i don't know exactly but i would say around 100. I put in a block of frozen baby brine shrimp and a pinch of Hikari First Bites, but I am unsure of what to do from here! Should i be setting up a nursery tank for them? from what I've read the parents can turn around and start eating them! at the moment they are still being really good and keeping them all together by collecting them and spitting them back out. I would really like to sell them to the LFS when they become a bit older, but i don't really know much about doing that either! So i guess my major question is, am i feeding them properly, and should I remove them from the parents? I want the parents to keep breeding so I don't want to stress them out by taking them away or removing the parents!!

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Sounds like you are doing ok with them.
It will be easier to move the parents then the fry if you want to separate them.

It is ram breeding season so you shouldn't be able to throw the parents off their 'game' very easy.

Good luck!
Keep us informed.