Help identify this plant!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hartgirl

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello everyone! This is actually my first post to this forum, although I've been reading discussions for a long time! I recently started planting my tank- no more fake plants for me! So far I have some Wisteria all along the back and corners of my tank, and just got these two new purple leaved plants. The guy at my lfs told me their name (I know I should have looked it up before but, I didn't...) anyway- this plant is not what they told me. I think it's something called Alternanthera reineckii aka ''roseafolia''. Can anyone confirm this for me? I attached a pic below..thanks! ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1397592554.721565.jpg

Also any advice for my newly planted tank would be wonderful, as I am new to live plant ;)

I am fairly certain you are correct about the reinekii. It's a higher light fairly difficult plant to grow.

Hello and Welcome to AA!, as previously stated you are correct it can be grown in low tech tanks but its red colors really come out in high tech tanks.

I am currently using the Aqueon 48" LED light strip. I have one "colormax" LED and one "bright white" LED strip in the unit so far, with another colormax strip being shipped to my house by tomorrow :) I called Aqueon an that combination of lights is rated to 45PAR for that depth of tank (minus a little towards the end because I have a rather long, odd shaped tank). According to my research, when I have all of the lights in place, I will have "moderate lighting". Do you think that will be enough to support this plant? I am fertilizing one per week with API leaf zone as well. Thanks again!

I'm running the same light on my 29 tall, I would give it low med light at best.. It has brought the reds out in a crypt and some rotala so you may be ok with it; )