Help! Need stocking advice for 15 gallon column tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jenelle

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi there, about a week ago we got a 15 column tank and followed every bit of advice given to us from the store. We are absolute beginners.

I used the biologically prepared gravel, have added stability every day, am watching for ammonia and nitrite, etc. It has a reasonable filter and I added a air stone to add oxyen given the tank proportions when I read about surface area.

The tank seems to be doing well. On the day i go the tank they sent us home with 1 platy, 1 red danio and 1 harlequin rasboro. They are doing well so far.

The problem is that I am getting conflicting advice about how to add more fish eventually given that I've now discovered the danio and the rasboro should be in schools but I don't have room for large schools especially not two of them. I really like the platy and would like another.

I was planning 2 or 3 guppies for the top level and Corys for the bottom, but I can't figure out the middle now or what I should do to keep the danio and rasboro happy. Maybe fewer guppies or corys so I can add more in the middle?

I LOVE this tank and want it to thrive.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I would go with 6 harlequin rasboras, another platy make sure its the same sex! And maybe some pygmy Corys. Other corys get pretty big and they need bottom area so the smaller variety might be a better choice for you 15 high. You could add some amano shrimp in there too. Maaaaybe another male guppy or 2. I would say that's pretty set.

Sent from my XT907 using Aquarium Advice mobile app