Help..Now a ? about Eheim Ecco Comfort Canister

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I'm stuck in the middle. I'm in Indiana about 2.5 hours from Indy. and about 1 hr from downtown Chicago.... I can't help myself, I have to go Bears.

I'm a Patriots fan, and we lost today- guess all good streaks must end sometime... Anyway, back on topic, I bought an Ecco filter a long while back as my first filter for my first tank, 1 10 gallon aquarium. It was marvelous. It was easy, quick to clean, it polished the water, and it was silent. The downside was the media- it was expensive to buy the Eheim media, even on ebay, but now I realize that you can put lava rock or AC media in there instead. I was a noob at the time, so I followed every jot and tittle of the instruction booklet saying 1/3 of media should be changed out every month or so. Overall, if you buy it, I think it will be sterling for your pets.

Ok so it should be on it's way shortley....what else do i need?

The blue coarse pads and the white fine filter pads...but what about the media?

What is the best option?

I see that physicsdue mentioned lava rock and AC...would I be better off ordering "EHEIM EHFISUBSTRAT Filter Medium"?

I use the Eheim brand Efhisubstrate (sp?) Basically it's lava rock gravel. I set mine up just like the instructions showed. I put the blue pad in the bottom basket with the gravel on top then gravel on;y in the middle basket and in the top a layer of gravel with the white pad on top and then the lid. I've no problems and my tank couldn't be better. That lava gravel is excellent biological media.

Nice score on Ebay!!! That is an awesome deal!! I hate to be the one that says "I told you so" :lol:

Edit: Yes, that Eheim lava gravel you're talking about is all you need besides those blue and white pads. ;)

crazyred said: