help please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mikeymike nyc

Aquarium Advice Newbie
hello im new to this and i started a new aquarium monday 2/20/2012. i added conditioner to the water and let the tank filter for 48 hrs. on Wednesday 2/22/2012 i added stress coat 2 dwarf gouramis and 1 clown pleco. i fed them the following day and since then everything seems fine they are eating and swimming around. today is 2/27/2012 and i did a ammonia test and the level is 1.0. is this normal for a new cycling tank? should i do a water change ? should i add ammonia neutralizer ? would appreciate some input thank you.

Attachments

• IMG_0558.jpg
    IMG_0558.jpg
    124.6 KB · Views: 62
  • IMG_0540.jpg
    IMG_0540.jpg
    209.6 KB · Views: 65
  • IMG_0553.jpg
    IMG_0553.jpg
    251 KB · Views: 57
  • SAM_4647.jpg
    SAM_4647.jpg
    225.8 KB · Views: 62
You really should have given more time for your tank to cycle you can't rush this but since you already added fish hears what I would do for the time being. Don't use Stress Coat go out and get a bottle of Seachem Prime, this will remove the chlorine from your tap water and will help neutralize the high amonia and eventually your high nitrite level. I recomend you get API Freshwater Master Test Kit or at least get a test kit for PH, and Nitrite testing. I know this may be costly but its important if you want a succesfull tank.
Remove 2 to 4 gallons of water from your tank then add half a cap full of Prime to treat your tank then start to add water back to your tank. Try to keep the water the same temp as it is in the aquarium so your fish don't go into temp shock. Do this two to three times a week.