HELP!! Selecting Fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ArmyFins

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I REALLY want this to work out. I'm starting my first real aquarium with a 40 gallon tank. I briefly had a 10 gallon tank for a couple weeks, but besides that I have no real experience. I've been doing some research about compatibility and want to make sure I get the right fish. I also want to make sure I don't overcrowd the tank. I would definitely like a nice school of fish as well as a couple larger fish as eye catchers. Generally, I've tried to get the typical peaceful fish. Please tell me if these are too many or a bad combination.

2 Pearl Gourami
2 Powder Blue Dawrf Gourami
6 Green Tiger Barb
6 Harlequin Rasboras
1 Bumblebee Catfish
1 Plecos

All advice is appreciated.!

Last edited by a moderator:
You could try a calculator such as the one found on AqAdvisor with your stocking question. It will prompt you for the tank size, filter, and inhabitants. It will provide stocking volume %, filtration %, how much water you should change each week, comments on incompatibility, conflict, and species specific info. It's a handy tool.
I don't have experience with all of the fish you've mentioned but I do know that plecos are most often sold as common plecos which can get huge. There are other, smaller pleco varieties which would be more suitable for your tank.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Please take this with a grain of salt.