Help! Sick Platties

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

c_rogers

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have a 10 gal community tank, with a pair of platties, 2 silver hatchets, and 5 small neon tetras. This tank has been up and running for about 6 weeks. The platties were previously healthy and had been displaying mating behavior, but are now hiding all the time except to eat, they swim erratically, and have closed fins. I don't see any sign of ich or any other damage, and the other fish are healthy.

Should I move them to my hospital tank? What treatment should I give them? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!

Water parameters:
Ammonia: 0 ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm
pH: 7.0
GH: 5 degrees (89.5 ppm)
KH: 10 degrees (179 ppm)
Temperature: 80 F

Ok, well I am not an aquarium expert but I used to have platies when I first started setting up my 10 gal, and they had a similar problem to yours. If I'm not mistaking, closed fins is a symptom of a type of fungus? I would go to your local pet store and buy some fungus clear and aquarium salt. Add the aquarium salt and fungus medicine as directed and see if it helps. Again, I am not an expert, but this always seems to help for me :) Good Luck

Mystery fish diseases are the pits aren't they :(

I would move them. Could be disease, could simply be stress. Either way, getting them into a calmer environment where you can keep a really close eye on them would be a good idea. Clamped fins do not always mean fungus; they always DO mean stress although the underlying cause is what needs to be determined. It doesn't appear to be your water parameters; they look ok.