Help: What do I do next?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Maltee

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
My betta that I've had for 14 months just died yesterday. I am pretty sure he died of dropsy. He became suddenly ill, stopped eating, and had pinecone scales. :(

What do I do now? I still have an aquatic snail and a live amazon sword plant in the tank (5 gallon). I know very little about how to care for the snail. Does the snail need to have a fish to produce waste to feed off of?

I would like to add another fish, but what do I need to do before I add one? Since my previous fish died of dropsy, I'd be worried that another fish would catch it. I would hate to see another fish die that way.

Sorry about your fish. You can feed your snail algae wafers for now. I have no experience with dropsy so hopefully someone else can chime in.