Help with anemone

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AqUaNoOb86

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey guys,

I just got a long tentacle anemone last night. I did all the proper acclimation procedures and he seemed to take well to the water. My problem is that he hasn't had the chance to attach himself to anything and I think my clowns are being too rough. I have another tank that is currently in the cycling process so I'm not sure if I should put the clowns in there for a couple weeks or not. This is just what I've read that could be a problem. If anyone has some suggestions please chime in. The anemone is on the substrate right now and it doesnt look like he has a foothold yet on anything. I am very new to all of this so in advance, if there are any abbreviations you will talk about can you please spell it out for me because I won't have the slightest idea what any of them mean...yet:brows:Thanks

Don't put them in the cycling tank. Get them into a different container with some water from your tank with a heater and they should be fine as long as you keep replacing the water daily.

Ok, what size container? Will a 5 gallon bucket do? I dont have anymore tanks. And how long should I keep them separated for? Thanks

I wouldn't do that. They need surface agitation for flow. I would simply turn the flow off in the tank and put the NEM on a rock. Mine attached like this in about 15 minutes after I moved him and 3 seconds when he went in the tank. Make sure his foot is in the rock and not the tentacles.