Help with deciding on which fish to add?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mandy2936

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hi! :)

OK so I have a 20g High tank. Currently in there are 6 male Guppies. I am planning on also adding 4 Julii Cories.

Then I was going to add 7 Neon Tetra... but I am wondering if there are any other options out there. Perhaps a hardier fish? I'm a beginner and don't want to kill my Neons! :( .

So, I am looking for ideas of my next fish. It has to be...

1. Hardy *This can be toggled a bit. It's okay if they aren't extremely hardy.
2. Small- as in under 1"-1.5"
3. Peaceful, doesn't fin nip * A must for my male Guppies
4. Attractive/Cute/Colorful

I have ruled out Harlequin Rasbora, as they are too large. I also would not like any Glowlight Tetras, even though they are small enough, and they have a nice strip of bright coloring, the dull grey color on the body just isn't as appealing to me. I'm starting to think Neons are my only choice, but would love to hear form anyone who thinks otherwise.

So, are there any suggestions that come to mind? I was set on Neons but after seeing them in the store today... I think I may have changed my mind.

Thanks so much! :)

"Pork chop" rasoboras (trigonostigma espei).... take a google at them and see if you like them.

Pork Chop Rasboras? Hmmm I have never heard of them, so I doubt any of my Pet stores would carry them. I googled them and I see they are similar in coloring to the Harlequins.

I have just discovered that Harlequin Rasbora aren't as large as I thought they were... so they are a possibility. I'd just get 5 or 6 instead of 7.

Still very indecisive. Opinions or other suggestions welcome!