help with my new reef

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gthirty7s

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey guys how are you.
Im new to this aquarium world and im very anxious to set up my aquarium
i just bought a nuvo nano 16 Gallon aquarium

this is what i have so far
Nature's Ocean Bio-Active Reef Sand and Reef Substrate
Reef Crystals 50 gallon mix
Instant Ocean Hydrometer

what kind of heater do you guys recommend?
im looking to order this one. 50watt or 100watt?

Aquarium Heaters & Temperature Control: Hagen Fluval M Heater

and im thinking about this skimmer
but im not sure if its going to fit in the back of the tank.

Aquarium Protein Skimmer: Hydor Slim Skim Protein Skimmer

im really not sure what else i need and i really dont wanna mess this up
i would really appreciate if you guys could put me on the right direction

Look like you are headed in the right direction. What is your plan for this tank?

Look like you are headed in the right direction. What is your plan for this tank?

Planing on putting corals live rock and a few clown fish

Should I go with a 50watt Heater or 100 watt?

How cold does it get at your house? The size of the heater will be determined by how many degrees the heater has to heat the water to get it to the set temp. I have a 50w in my 29g cube, but I live in florida soit never has to work really hard. :)

Also, Nuvo has its own skimmer too that is about $100, my friend has the exact same setup and uses theirs, it fits perfect in the back left compartment.

But, if you do your regular water changes you dont really need a skimmer to be honest. It's just optional. :)

I;ve done it both ways. If you add the water first you will get a sandstorm lasting a few days from the sand. If you put the sand in first, you can place a dinner plate in the tank and pour the water in on that and it will reduce the sandstorm. :)