Help with new tank plans

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Hydroponicfish

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am replacing my 45 gal tank with a 90 gal and want to go big. I intend to do a partial hydroponics setup, a planted tank with lotuses, a biological filter, a part time carbon filter a lot of water flow and a 15-20 gal tank all in one system. I have included a diagram, but only had my webcam to scan it with. I intend to keep neon tetras, mollies &c in the 90. Does anyone have tips as to the power of the pump, hardy oygenator plants, what I could keep in the 15 with massive waterflow or anything else? I've never done anything like this before and help would greatly appreciated.
PS the pump runs all the time and the valve dumps some of the water out of the 15 every time it gets to full.

Attachments

• WIN_20161031_13_37_28_Pro.jpg
    WIN_20161031_13_37_28_Pro.jpg
    115.4 KB · Views: 33
That's a serious set up! Can't wait to see it all set up. I can't put any input in for this as I don't have any experience with sumps or hydroponics but your plan looks like you know what your doing. For a 90gal u are going to want a pump that pushes around 8-10x the volume an hour I'd say

Wowsa! I cant offer any advice at all. But brilliant design though. Best wishes.

Wow, quite a setup. A few thoughts/questions:
1. Have you considered buying or building a sump and placing it under the 90g? The space under the tank should be more than adequate for a decent sized sump. This would prevent having to drill through the floor and the added expense for a pump that can overcome the head pressure between floors.