Help !

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

g_good

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am a newbie here. Not @ aquarium keeping. I've been into that for 50 years,starting small & getting larger. Even now, I am not that large. I am growing tired with the hobby. I've never had problems & suddenly that is all I have.My biggest problem is with my 30 gallon planted discus tank. It was beautiful & then..... all of a sudden, the water is so murky, I can't see through it. I put a blanket over it for a week, blocking out all light thinking I may have green algae in the water. I used my sponges over & over again. They were getting pretty shabby so I got new ones but rinsed them in the disgarded water before using them. They remain white which tells me they are not doing a good cleaning job. I do daily water changes syphoning the gravel @ the same time. I have reduced the light from 12 to 4 hrs./day. I purchased the recommended lights a few months ago & everything was fine till recently so it wasn't the lights. I clean up all decaying plant matter. I feed the fish every other day. I fertilize with seachem fertilizer. I just recently stopped dosing with iron. Someone told me it could cause cloudy water.

It is getting worse daily.

I'm desperate. Any ideas ?

Thanks,
g_good

How many discus? How large are they? I ask because my suggestion is probably a feeding reduction. A 30 is pretty small for a proper group of discus IMO.