Help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bgerad

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone. I'm new to this, and well...I just got a 20 gallon tank a few weeks ago. It's already been running and filter did its job and now I have fishes in it. Now all I need to know, how long before I need to switch the filter sponge ?

bgerad said:
Hello everyone. I'm new to this, and well...I just got a 20 gallon tank a few weeks ago. It's already been running and filter did its job and now I have fishes in it. Now all I need to know, how long before I need to switch the filter sponge ?

Hi and welcome to AA!
Usually you don't need to replace your filter media (sponge, bio balls, ceramic rings,etc) until it is literally falling apart. The BB (beneficial bacteria) live on your media so if you change it you are loosing your colony. What is recommended is that you rinse your media in a bucket of tank water during your weekly PWC (partial water change).
Are you aware of what cycling a new tank/filter is? I will add a link for you to have a read through.
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/artic...g-but-I-already-have-fish-What-now/Page2.html
If you have any questions don't hesitate to ask! :)

RE: Filter

It should say on your filters, depending on the brand. But you always want some bacteria in the tank so you don't wanna change it at the small sign of dirt. But you can rinse the filter out every other week and change it about every 3 months....if you want to be absolutely sure google it! I'm only telling you how I cared for mine and they did just fine! Good luck! Any other ?'S just let me know!

Jenny79 said: