Hey guys

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Acacialad

Aquarium Advice Newbie
New here this evening.
I have a nearly 500litre aquarium outside on my 2nd floor balcony. (I know it's heavy lol)
I also have started aquaponics on a small scale on top of said tank. However this sun now is insane and from cleaned to totally unable to see through the glass is 48hours!.
I get usually black containers are used for aquaponics but due to space and practicality I wish to enjoy my aquarium too.
Anyone had any experience with uv film? Does it help at all? Also what would you guys say are the fastest snails at devouring algae? I have some onion snails literally onion sized but only two and some small ramshorns but merely a few.
Again I'm new to online chat etc so please bare with me and I really appreciate any time spent assisting me??
Steve from Maidstone

Hi and welcome to the forum! I am not sure of the intensity of sunlight that you are receiving, but it sounds to me like you are getting "direct" sunlight. Yes, you may want to try some UV film or anything that will block or at least diffuse the light to a degree of not having an algae farm. I would try the side facing the sun first and see how that goes. As for snails, I'm really not sure. All snails eat algae to a degree.