Hi everybody!!!! I could use your help....

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ljh

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi, I am new to this blog and am hoping that you all can give me some help in setting up a 75 gal show tank (not that it's "show" it's just a tall tank..36"W X 17"deep X 31" tall). Let me briefly tell you how I got hooked...about 4 years ago a young colleague (navy sailor) was leaving this area and couldn't take her fish...she had kept a female beta and 3 rosabaras in a little "beta cube" (which btw I HATE! no one should live in such a small area). Her beta had passed but she still had the rosies. Of course I took them and went out and bought a 10 gal marineland with bio-wheel. Since she had had a beta I treated myself to a beautiful blue half-moon to join the group. I googled, I studied, I researched and thought I had everything under control....Well, I was faced with weeks of thinking everything was great then waking to horrible "blooms"...to the point that I couldn't see the fish!...crying and fretting and hoping my fish would survive...Thanks to a wonderful woman at PetSmart and her advice, getting me to add coral, bog wood, water testing, lots of water changes, etc. everyone survived.....including my marriage!!! Maybe I should tell you at this point that I am a huge animal rescue advocate and don't want to lose ANYBODY on my watch! Finally, my tank gained perfect conditions and I was so happy....25-30% water changes every week....plus a good vacum and cleaning of plants and gravel every 10 days. :fish2:Okay, after about 3 years my beautiful betta started to fail....spending alot of time in his log, on his leaf....and then he finally passed...I was sad but knew that he'd had a good life...but it was hard for me. So I thought "what can I put in this tank to add a little color"....PetSmart suggested a few little Platys, (I think the