Hi I am a newbie!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Louxtreme

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Gday well lets see if this works.

I'm Louise and I'm based in Modjadjiskloof South Africa.

I inherited one tank with 22Red jewel cichalids, a pleco (deceased 2 months ago) a leopard fish (deceased he drowned by getting stuck in an ornament).

Just recently over September I've lost 3 fish. 1 I think had swim bladder issues from constipation. One I just found floating at the top of the tank 2hrs after feeding. 2 have clumped fins patches where scales have fallen off or they have been fighting? They were eating well. I put the first one in quarentine and tested with salt and ich treatme t but he lost all his color, turned gray and died.

The 4th one is in quarentine receiving same treatment. Now I see there are a few others with clumped find, no spots!

I'm feeling terrible. All the water parameters are perfect? The tank is 380L.

Any suggestions?

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum.

When you say all the parameters are perfect, what are they?

What sort of condition was everything in when you inherited it all?

Im not a cichlid person, but that seems a lot of fish for that size tank.

Have you changed any routines from what they had before you took charge? Sudden changes to living conditions can be stessful even if the changes are for the better (eg. big water changes when they havent previously had a water change in months).

Cichilids

Hi Aikin,
thanks for responding!

I get the water tested at the local fish shop, he said it was perfect, no nitrates, nitrites or ammonia, Ph was normal for Cichalids.

I had 13 when I inherited the tank May 2020, then two months later BABIES. So out of 100 or so fry I was left with 9 babies and the other fish. Now I am down to 18.

The quarantine fish seems to be ok. No turning gray at least.