Hi, I'm new!! 15gal FW Column Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TangoTank

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hi!!

I'm a Graphic Designer/SAHM. I love my pets!! Can't have enough! So, we're giving an aquarium a-go! We've had a Betta for over a year and thought we'd get him a bigger, prettier tank. Come to find out, the tank we've been keeping him in is actually best. We plan to just get some hardy starter fish & go from there.

So, I filled up my new tank w/ decos, gravel & spring water, added conditioner & FW aquarium salt yesterday and the next day (today) my water is mildly cloudy green! HELP!!

May 3rd = Day #1

I uploaded comparison pics to my profile. Thks for your help in advance!!

First of all... Welcome to AA!
Second of all... aquariums are addicting :)
Third of all... you are probably experiencing an algae bloom. It is not hazardous. If it gets too bad (lots of green) then a black out may be required. But for the most part pwc should take care of it.

Thanks for the warm welcome!
Yes, I figured out after a bit of research that it's an algae bloom. It's very similar to a green pool. I'd say it's pretty bad. I've already put the tank in the dark. There's no fish, THANK GOODNESS. So from experience w/ pools, I know the water will be very cloudy after algae dies. Then what? Let it settle to bottom & vac it out? Is there any filter tricks other than buying a diatomic filter?? Can I buy or make an insert that will help clear the water? Or please don't tell me I have to start over... But if I should, I will. I need to know what I should do to prevent this again. I just wonder if it's the Spring Water brand b/c this took ONE day. The tank is not in direct sunlight AT ALL. All new decos. I'm super disappointed, but thank goodness I'm patient & like to do things the right way.