Hi newbie here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

southerngirl

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all. I am new to this forum and new to fish keeping.

First I will tell you about the tanks.. One is a 29 gallon. I bought it used so it might/should have some kind of bactera already in it I hope. however, I set it up on last Wed, and today day five.. finally got a master test kit and put in four little zebra danios.

The guy at the fish store told me that I need the fish to start the cycle and that he highly recommended that I do it with fish, as its the easiest way to do it.

I also have an assortment of chemicals for the tank and have treated the water of course... Conditioner, bacteria boosting stuff, ph lowering stuff.

I tested the water and so far day one of testing the ph is way too high so I put in the stuff to lower it. I will retest tomorrow.

:fish2:

About the 2nd tank. It's only 5 gallon but it has a filter set up and lighted hood. It was the first tank I got and a few months ago it was set up, overstocked and everything DIED. I did not know what I was doing at all. :hide:

This time around, I have been doing alot of reading though and have decided it will house one Betta fish. I got that fish today also as the fish guy at the store said it would be fine. THAT tank was just set up hours ago and the fish seems to be ok so far. Will test that water tomorrow as well.

:dance:

:welcome: to the forum!

pH lowering products actually hurt fish more than help as they wear off and then cause a fluctuation which is harmful. As long as the water's pH is about 8.4 or lower it should be fine.

As for the cycling.....fish-in cycles are by far not the easiest method. They require tons of water changes. Here is an article to help:I just learned about cycling but I already have fish. What now?! - Aquarium Advice