High ammonia level

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
At some point you need to remove the zeolite. Its actively working against what you are trying to do. Once its absorbed all the ammonia there will be nothing to cycle the tank. Once its used up, all that ammonia will start to build up again.

You might think reducing the ammonia is helping, but nothing is dying and controlling ammonia with frequent water changes would be the way to go until either the ammonia stops leaching, or you identify whats causing it and remove it.

Okay! Removing it now!

Should I get more bacteria to add?

You are using seachem aquavitro seed? Thats a product i have no personal experience of, and you are also the first person ive ever come across that has tried it. Its supposedly a better version of seachem stability, and stability is probably the worst of all these bottled bacteria products on the market.

I like Dr Tims One and Only, Tetra Safestart is essentially identical. But mostly these products tend to no nothing useful. Fritz products seem to come with the best recommendation.

Try and keep the ammonia from going above 2ppm. Once the ammonia isnt showing any more, either due to it not leaching anymore or your cycle establishing enough to remove whatever is leaching out, you will need to start dosing ammonia.

I would still look at changing the substrate if its determined to be the source of your ammonia problems.

So, the plan is…

1. Remove Zeolite
2. Substrate test
3. Frequent water changes

Should I be dosing the water with the neutral regulator to manage pH, or is that not a concern at this point?

Chemically altering pH usually causes more problems than it solves. Stable pH is more important than trying to attain an ideal pH, and selecting fish that suits your water is better than trying to force your water to be somewhere it isnt.