High Nitrite & Plants

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

scooterlindy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm completely new to being a fish mom and I recently upgraded from an established 12 gallon tank to a new 20 gallon tank. I've been testing my water daily as I had to move my fish sooner than I planned on it because the filter in the old tank died - so I moved filter media to the new tank along all the decorations from the old tank and let the tank run for 24 hours and then added my fish - so far the water has been perfect except for the ph is at 7.6ppm - consistently, I've treated it with ph down but it stays at 7.6ppm no matter what I try, even with water changes. However, I went out of town this weekend and didn't test the water Friday, Saturday or Sunday. When I tested the water last night, everything was fine except my Nitrite - it was at 0.5ppm. So my plan is to do a 25% PWC tonight when I get home - I prepped the water last night and it should be good to add tonight (I have city water, so I like to treat it and let it sit 24 hours before I add it to the tank). Is there anything else I should do? I currently only have 2 tetras in the tank. I know I need more as they like to school but I had to go out of town last minute this weekend and now my water isn't right, so adding friends will have to wait. My boys are acting fine and eating but reading on Nitrites, I'm worried they are being harmed.

Also, I'd like to add some real plants to the tank - as a new fish mom, I don't want to bite off more than I can chew, so to speak. What are some easy plants to add? I've seen the moss balls that I like but I'm not sure how to go about adding plants. I currently have rocks as my substrate - will I need to change that?

Thank you in advance!