Holes in leaves ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Traciedjessop

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi there. I'm a newbie to planted tanks. Set up for about 8 weeks now.
I have these holes in my leaves. Wonder if it's the ramshorn snails? Or the Molly ? Or is the plant dying?
I have the ramshorns because I'm going to have freshwater dwarf puffers so I want the food source.
Any advice is welcome. Thanks!!
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1404912465.219533.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1404912478.223451.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Also I am dosing daily with Excel about 3 drops of excel in my 12 gal long. If this was bad advice please let me know. The store I was advised at already lost my business for putting profit over true care for the hobby.
Thanks again!!

It does not look like the plant is dying. It definitely looks like something took a bite out of it though. I believe it is the ramshorns because they are known for eating live plants.

Sent with my fingers

Plant Care

Hello Trac...

Livebearing fish like Mollies, can damage plants as they rasp bits of algae from the leaves. I keep Ramshorn snails and never noticed them eating anything other than dead plant and animal material. They don't damage healthy plants. Your plant may simply have a nutrient problem. Plants are like fish, they tire of the same food, so maybe it's time for a change. I use Flourish Comprehensive sometimes and also change out a lot of tank water every week or two. Water changes replace minerals the plants need for good health. It wouldn't hurt to review the lighting requirements of your plants, just to make sure you're providing the right amount.

B

The Molly is rehoming tonight anyways so that will help.
Thank you for the advice on the change if nutrients. I'll do that right away.