How I treat FW ick

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HookedOnFishh

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm fairly new to the SW part of fish keeping, but I know so much about FW. I love using this method but it's WITHOUT MEDICATIONS! it is not recommend for: Dwarf cichlids, livebearers, planted tanks, tetras, or any other weak fish. Fish it is made for: Africans, monster cichlids, bigger types of fish or very tolerant cichlids, and goldfish.

1st step: Place fish in a QT or keep fish in your main tank.
2nd step: Up the temperature of the tank in the 80 F range. Don't go over 95 F it will put stress on the fish but it will kill he ich.
3rd step: Get aquarium salt and pour it in! Make sure it's a good enough amount and it will raise the salinity a little bit. If your a SW keeper hygrometers will work.

Lastly, the ick should fall off in chunks I'm not joking chunks! I did do this to a monster tank that had ick wiped out the ick in 2 days! A dangerous process but works flawless unless used on fish not recommended for! I hope this helps!

*once ick is gone do a water change take salt out
** then lower the temp slowly FW ick can't take high temps or salt

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

80f is a big, sensitive range. You should be more specific. Old Pete from Aquabid has a good method that i like. Keep a Heater preset to 86f. Drop it in along with a handful of AQ salt and some quick cure, if they get better, great, if not.....it "a weak fish and i dont want to deal with it" to quote him
That was his response when i asked him what meds he used.....
OFC this is ONLY gonna work for external parasites.....ovbiously if he gets fish in with bacterial diseases or internal parasites he culls them.