How long do your fish really live?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

twoodrough

Aquarium Advice Freak
I can't seem to get over the hump in this hobby. I have been doing it for a couple of years plus. I do things well as far as I can tell (light feeding, 50% weekly changes, good filtration, nitrates less than 10, little algae, research including questions here). But I can never seem to get my fish to live longer than a few months. I am wondering if my expectations are too high and that is causing my frustration. I always seem to want to mess with my tank when it gets settled and then I lose fish. The last change was to sand and I have lost 5 since then. Then I wonder, if my fish were to live as long as some people say, would I be bored because I can't get new ones.

Just wonder what other's experiences really are. Honestly. :ermm:

Most of my fish are over a year old, I have a weather loach that is 6 - hardest thing to do is leave your tank alone, I have 4 tanks and leave a 15g tank as an experiment tank to try out new ideas, keeps me from messing with my bigger tanks. Changing to sand shouldn't have killed any fish if the levels where monitored correctly as your filter should have been able to cope along with water changes until your beneficial bacteria numbers came back up, what is your stocking, size of tank, type of filter, chemicals you use etc?