How long till water clears?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

molliebub

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Bought a small 20 litre tank for my wee boy, set it up, it got cloudy so asked at the nearest aquarium dealership and was told it's a build up of bacteria and that it will clear. It's been over a week with filter running, water well aeriated, tank isn't near the window.

Will it clear on it's own or do I need to treat it with anything?

I don't want to put fish in until I know it's settled, but I'm new to this and reading the newbie section has made this obvious! It all seems to refer to much larger tanks than mine too.

Any comments much appreciated!

It is a bacterial bloom and is quite normal for a cycling tank. What method of cycling are you doing?

My ignorance is showing big time! Didn't know what cycling was - done a bit more homework now, have ordered a test kit and think small water change weekly will be sufficient till my tank stabilises.

Do you think that will do it?

I will do more research, don't want to put fish in and have them get ill or die right away!

Thanks

New Tank

Molliebub,