How long to keep water?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Trueerfan

Aquarium Advice Activist
Ok guys here goes. I am brand new to the hobby. I have everything set up and ready to go. I ordered Live Rock and it should of been shipped tomorrow, unfortunately their supplier is out. My question is how long can I keep the water I made? It is in a 32 gallon trash can with powerhead and heater? The live rock should be here next Friday (11 days from now). I have base rock, should I wait or add the base rock and add the water and start the tank? Any help would be appreciated.

ForumRunner_20121023_203727.jpg

The water can sit in the bucket for a while as long as it is being circulated. If i were you i would just add half of the sand, then add the water to the tank. Wait to add the base rock because you will have to take it out anyways when your live rock comes so you can aquascape with it. Then once you have all the rock create a cool scape and then add the second half of sand so that the structure is secure.

SaltwaterNuB said:
That thing is so nice! Can't wait to see the finished product! Doesn't look like you're a beginner.

Just know a little bit about carpentry. Thanks for the compliment...

SaltwaterNuB said:
Do you pictures of inside the wall? What size tank is that?

Its a 75 gallon. I will post a pic later today of behind the wall.

If my city water has chlorimine, and i think my RO/DI does not remove it, should i treat the water? If so what should i treat it with?

Trueerfan said:
If my city water has chlorimine, and i think my RO/DI does not remove it, should i treat the water? If so what should i treat it with?