How many fish in an Eclipse 12?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hb2000

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi. I'm new to freshwater aquariums and am thankful to have found a helpful forum such as this. My first tank is an Eclipse 12 from Marineland. I would like some guidance on how many fish I can safely have in the tank. I understand that the often heard 1" per gallon is not really accurate.

I want the fish to be happy. I want the fish to get along (no nipping at each other). And all prefer the same water temperature. I would like to have:

1 - Male Betta, 2 - dwarf Gourami's and a small group of schooling fish say 5 - neon or rummy nose tetras or white clouds or cherry barb's.
Maybe a couple dwarf corry

Would they get along? Is that to many fish for the tank? For a pair of dwarf gourami can you have two males of different or the same colours together? Will I need a heater for these type of fish? And what wattage?

Thanks for your help.

I think the betta is out, or the dwarf gouramis. They generally don't get along. If you go with the gouramis, you might want to try for a male and a female. I have two males in my Eclipse 12 and they fight a lot, to the point where one now hides constantly and is afraid to come out (I plan to move him to a bigger tank shortly).

If you go with a small schooling species as you mentioned, I think you could put that many fish in the Eclipse. I have seven fish in mine--the two dwarf gouramis, three platies and two upside down catfish (who will have to move once they get bigger but I think they'll be fine for a year or so).

Good luck... its a pretty tank. I enjoy mine a lot! :)

I agree with not putting in two male gouramis.