How to clean?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Amazonabby

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to this and I am not sure how I am supposed to use the "vacuum" to clean my tank when I have plants in my rocks. I have a 30 gallon fresh water with 3 angels, 3 barbs and 2 gouramis. I have 4 sizes of gravel in my tank: pea gravel, river rock, egg rocks and larger decorative rocks. I have 1 piece of driftwood in there and another soaking currently. I purchased a lot of plants on eBay and they seem to be doing good for the past week. I believe I need to re-home one of the barbs and one of the gouramis due to fin nipping. I have both of them now separated so they can't nip anymore. I have iron supplements for the plants and stress zyme for the water. I use Ro water to fill the tank. I have had this setup running for about a month.

Attachments

• image-2296068310.jpg
    image-2296068310.jpg
    64.8 KB · Views: 109
  • image-3232196679.jpg
    image-3232196679.jpg
    66.8 KB · Views: 116
  • image-2171779709.jpg
    image-2171779709.jpg
    62.4 KB · Views: 101
Welcome Aboard!

Great looking tank and I like the use of different sized rocks. As for cleaning, you could kinda poke the gravel vac into the areas you can reach and pull what you can up, but I find if I let gunk settle around the plants they use it as root food.

Is the tank fully cycled?

Why RO water? Plants and fish really need the nutrients and elements that are in dechlorinated tap water, so unless you have serious issues with what's coming out of the tap, I'd suggest using it instead of the RO water.

Iron is good to add, but I'd suggest looking into Seachem's Flourish Comprehensive too as a liquid fert and for heavy root feeding plants, root tabs are a good addition.