How to prune

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JRagg

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I'm pretty new to the whole planted thing. I have never raised any aquatic plants or regular plants. My biggest "problem plant" right now is a red melon sword. I think I've got enough light to keep it going (not red but green :(), but it seems to be growing out instead of up. Which leaves need to be pruned in order to force it to grow taller? Do I cut the new shorter growth in order to accomplish this?

Taller? It will grow toward the light if you raise the light of use less, otherwise it wants to lay down. If you really want it to grow up, there is a couple other options. Place rocks around the plant to force the leaves up or bury the plant deep enough that it is forces the leaves up. Leaving all the older leaves may cause it grow upwards but that can become a huge number of leaves in a matter of a couple weeks. Mine puts out 3 leaves a week, all red for about a week then turn green. When I leave the light up off the tanks, about 6 inches above, the leaves grow toward the top of the tank. When I put the light right on the tank, the leaves lay flat.

And Red Melon Swords, the new leaves are red for about a week or so then turn a deep green. They do not stay red.

I guess I'm stuck with it growing like it is then. I've got one of those plastic hoods on a 10gal, so no real option to raise the light in this case.

Ok, I'm seeing what you're talking about with the leaves starting red (more of a brownish red for me) and then turning green. Which leaves should I prune to keep this plant in check and healthy? I know I need to prune something since like you said it is sprouting new leaves all the time.

I may try that rock trick and see what happens.