I need advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Poseidon82

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I just bought a 75 gallon tank stocked with 12 medium size fancy goldfish. I want to take the goldfish to my lfs and turn it into a South American cichlid tank. Would the cichlids be ok in the existing water or do I need to start all over.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I'm totally new her and only been in the hobby for about 10 month (so please be gentle if I am totally off base here). But I believe most fish stores have central filtering systems, that filters and exchanges the water for all their tanks. So based on THAT - I would assume the same water/filter could be used for the new fish once the old were removed (I assume this would be a rather quick change so your BB won't die off).

This is just logical in my mind - but like I said, I'm still a rookie. Hope I'm not steering you in the wrong direction.

(EDIT: I just noticed you said you BOUGHT the tank with the fish already in it... So I guess it would also depend on how well you trusted the previous tank owner to maintain a healthy environment. I obtained some filters, substrate and a decoration from someone I didn't know for use in my new 75 - that will be up and running soon - but I cleaned the crap out of that stuff because I didn't know what kind of a tank it came out of)

Are you asking if you need to drain the tank and start over with new water before adding new fish?
Do you happen to have a test kit so you can know your water parameters. There isn't an issue with new fish touching the same water a different fish has been in, but you do need to make sure the parameters are good before adding new fish. You should check the ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate for example. Most fish stores will do this for free.