I need some advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Frogathy

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to tanks. I did it a long time ago and dont remember having this much trouble. I have been cycling a 37 gallon aquarium for 3 weeks. The first week I went into a bacterial bloom and did a water change of about 5 gallons. Then the algae bloom hit and I shut down the lights and only turned them on for 3 hours everyday. I found out the tap water I have is extremely high in PH so I decided to do a half water change and added RO water. The tank still was a bit cloudy but now the algae Bloom is back. All perimeters of the tank are good, even bought the PH down. I am using an Aqua pure 50 filter and I do have aeration in the tank. Please help me figure what is going on.
Thank you. :fish1:

I am new to tanks. I did it a long time ago and dont remember having this much trouble. I have been cycling a 37 gallon aquarium for 3 weeks. The first week I went into a bacterial bloom and did a water change of about 5 gallons. Then the algae bloom hit and I shut down the lights and only turned them on for 3 hours everyday. I found out the tap water I have is extremely high in PH so I decided to do a half water change and added RO water. The tank still was a bit cloudy but now the algae Bloom is back. All perimeters of the tank are good, even bought the PH down. I am using an Aqua pure 50 filter and I do have aeration in the tank. Please help me figure what is going on.
Thank you. :fish1:

You probably didn’t have this much trouble previously because all these things you mention are something that we really don’t need to worry about as aquarists and the majority of which have been added as a means to confuse and complicate a relatively simple hobby.

If you don’t have fish that are dependent on low pH then you honestly don’t need to worry about the pH level.