ID a fish.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Damo76

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I got a fish with a tank but have no idea what it is. Unfortunately, I can't take a picture as every time I enter the room it hides behind wood or filter. I have limited knowledge about fish species so will describe it as best as possible. It is approximately 5cm long. The mouth is similar to a rasbora. The body is almost tube-like similar to some loaches. It has clearly visible fin types. It's head has dull yellow and greyish black stripes. The darker stripes slowly turn to dots along its body. From what I could see with a torch, Its dorsal fins are grey with a bright yellow striped tip and its ventral fins are grey with blue striped tip. I have not clearly seen the tail or or other fins. All google results are completely nothing like I describe.
Apologies in advance if this is in the wrong area, new to the forum and don't know my way around just yet.

Sorry, the description doesn't sound familiar. I suggest you try visiting some local pet shops and seeing if they have this fish in stock. Another option is to try setting up a camera with a remote button to take pics while you are not in the room.

My guess.... Very much is a guess. Check out the freshwater "goby" species.

Possibly a young goby.

THANK YOU!
Just a few thousand species of them. I'll settle for just goby as most the first few hundred images resembled mine, I did not find an exact match on it's breed. Might be a cross.

Try doing a Google image search for yours as mixing gobies does not always work. Some are very territorial. (y)

Check out rainbow gobies. With the colours you mentioned, could be a variant of that.

It's very cool when you get a random fish appear. I had it recently after changing stock. 2 months later I've seen a baby fish from my old stock.