I'm a beginner starting a 55gal aquarium. ADVICE NEEDED

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kay2lynnS

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello to all you wise aquarium keepers! My family and I are wishing to have an Aquarium. Yes, I am a beginner. (I've only have a Betta for the past 1 1/2) So I'm in need of some advice, and have open ears for what you have to say.

:fish2:

We bought a 55gallon tank from someone in our town. It came with 2 Aquatech 30-60 gallon filters, hood lid and lights. also some other things, but those are the main. We have yet to find a stand to hold the weight of the tank once full, but one will come soon. This will be a freshwater Aquarium.

To save you time and typing, Id like you to know I have read this beginners guide on this site, and those like it. Along with countless other websites on how to keep and maintain an aquarium, fish and plants. I've been resurching for about a hald a month now. :) But am still learning and hoping for any advice.

So here we go:

Firstly I wish to go for a natural look in our tank. With Sand as the substrate, driftwood, smooth stacked rocks ( for hiding) and live plants. Possibly an air rock for bubbles? enough for some fish to hide in. (I know what to do to clean each of these before putting them in the tank)

Next, Which kind of plants should I have in my tank? I like some height. I don't want it cluttered. Just enough to have in and around the wood and rocks and for the fish to hide in. Also ones for them to nibble on. What is high in protein and nutrients? I was thinking some types of Anubias and duckweed, I'd also love some moss that can grow on parts of the driftwood. Suggestions?