im just getting started i need some advice!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Brandyn85

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
ok guys im totally new to the whole saltwater thing so i need some help. Please tell me what you think and sorry ahead of time for the lengthy post.

im getting my tank from my brother in law because he is upgrading to a custom built 270 gallon tank. I'll be getting my tank in the next 2 or 3 days when his new one is set up, it is a 90 gallon tank which measures 48x24x18 i believe. along with it i will get the sump, pump and stand. I know my brother in law will be available to help out but i don't want to rely on him to be there all the time, and this is all stuff i want to learn anyway.

My goal is to end up with a FOWLR tank, so please tell me if im missing something or if i should do something different.

I've been doing a lot of reading and searching and heres what ive come up with. in order to get started i need to buy Lights, sand, rock, powerhead(s), and a heater, and then this is where i need help..

I'm trying to figure out in what order to do things, and if i need to get everything before water or not. as i have a second child being born in about a week and my wife will probably kill me if i go out and spend 500 buck at a time on this thing... so i will probably have to space my purchases out by a couple weeks

should i get a protein skimmer first or can i add that later?

can i get sand then water and add rock after the water or should i buy sand and wait for water until i get rock?

what should i put in the sump? i read a forum that said not to do bio balls? is that true?

I found a 260W light on amazon for a little over $100 will it work ok?
(2) x 65W Fluorescent 12,000k White Daylight PL Lamps
(2) x 65W Blue Actinic PL Lamps
(4) Pairs, 8 Blue-Moonlight LEDs