I'm scared for my platy!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RedJasper

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I got a female platy a few months ago (end of Septemberish) along with 2 other platies, one other female and a male. They were my first fish, I'm pretty new to fish keeping. My tank was cycled and all the water levels were in the good, and one female was pregnant. My boyfriend added his fish (a few guppies, because it's a 20 gallon tank) and they are doing fine. What's weird is, my platy kept growing, obvious gravid spot, and seemingly going on like a normal pregnancy. That was almost 3 months ago. She still hasn't given birth, she hides in my skull I have in the tank, and the guppies don't bother her, or I don't even think they know she's there. What's wrong with her? 3 months is an awful long time for a platy to be pregnant. :(

i dont really know what is wrong with her but one of my molly does the same thing except she swims happily, maybe shes not pregnant i know it looks like she is but maybe its just her insides, i have no clue why shes hiding, is she wiggling a little? she might not be getting enough oxygen, do water changes feed good foods and she might be happier??? keep me posted

I think that they will not give birth untill they have found a safe envorment the same thing happened to my sister she bought a platy that was pregnant and well it stayed like that for a long time until she was comtorable in the tank then she gave birth and unfortinetly the angel fish ate them all for a midnight snack. So check you waters and see if their is any readings that might be off. It might be the problem.