In over my head!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

thegarthok

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello Fish Heads!!!!

I'm new to this aquarium thing and have gotten myself in over my head but am determined to do this right! The health and safety of my fish is more important to me than how the tank looks. That being said...I'm lost. I'm realizing stocking is a lot more confusing process than I originally thought and I'm having a problem with algea. After a lot of useless meandering on the interwebs I found this site which seems to have some of the nicest most informative people fish-forum wise so I'm hoping you can help!

Here's what I have so far:

10 Gallon - "the algae problem"
Pop - 1 Betta, 2 Platys, 1 Mystery Snail
Filtration - AquaClear 30, 175 gph
Temp - 80 F

29 Gallon
Pop - 5 Albino Corys, 1 Dalmation Molly, 1 Silver Lyretail Molly
Filtration - Aqueon 30, 200 gph
Temp 80 f

I guess I start my forum presence by asking for help with the algae problem and ideas for stocking both tanks (I like activity!).

Thanks again everyone!

Moved to the getting started section. You will get more answers here.

Welcome to AA.

Let's start with the algae problem:

What kind of algae is it? (color?, appearance?)

What are your water parameters (ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, pH)?

How long has the tank been set up?

What kind of substrate do you have in the tank?

First question, how did you cycle your tank? Also, are you testing the water parameters with any sort of testing kit. (Most suggest the api master test liquid kit). If your Nitrites go wild, my understanding is that algae could go wild.

Also, how much are you feeding. excess feeding can also cause that problem.