Injuried Snowflake Eel

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kimothy685

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello! This is my first time posting on here, I'm excited to join the community.

Unfortunately my husband and I are having problems with our Snowflake Eel. It's now January 2, he has not eaten a decent amount since August (he does live in the tank by himself). It's pretty normal for him to decide to fast and go a few months without eating. In November we did notice that he hasn't been opening his mouth (which is pretty normal for eels to keep their mouth open to smell). He seems to be losing a lot of weight and his jaw appears to be injured. For a while he was hanging out next to the filter, we made some adjustments to the tank raised the temperature to 80 F and adjusted the PH to 8.4. He looked to be doing better and went back down to hanging around in the bottom of the tank, but he hasn't been burrowing. Since we noticed the injury we've upped the water changes and increased the stress coat dosage.

We tried to soak his krill in garlic and he seems interested in eating as he looks around and rubs his face in it. We tried to feed him frozen shrimp, I believe he managed to open his mouth a little to eat a string of it. Next we tried 3 live ghost shrimp, 2 of them we found dead stuck on the filter in the following days, but the smallest one has not turned up. I believe that he ate it, but my husband doesn't think so. Anyway we wanted to get the community's advice on what to do next. I answered the questions I found on the forum below, I've also attached pictures. Thank you for your help! I'm sorry for the long post!

1. How long have you had the fish? Do you know if it was wild caught, or tank raised? 2 years, tank raised