Install Purigen in Dennerle Corner Filter?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mrspock

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello. I am new to this and have a tank set up and waiting for a Betta and maybe some Tetras later on. We put a piece of Mopani wood in there and of course the water turned brown (we didn't know to boil it and it seems even that doesn't always cure the tannin problem. We didn't know this would happen and we don't like the look of it. People are saying to use Purigen for it but virtually nowhere does anyone say HOW to use it. Where does it go? What kind of filter unit does it work with? We bought a Dennerle 10 gallon tank that came with a filter (link below) but I don't know if this will work with it or where to put the purigen. I'm not keen on buying a whole new filter setup just for this problem...we'll just get rid of the wood and redo the water in the tank I guess if this is going to be a big deal.

Apologies if this has been answered but I couldn't find anything on this forum or others.

https://dennerle.com/en/products/nano-aquaristic/filtration/filters/nano-corner-filter

You would normally put your purigen in a media bag and put the bag in a compartment in the filter. Your filter doesn't have room for this. You have 2 options.

- Put the purigen in a media bag and drop it into the water, somewhere in the flow of the water.
- Buy the optional extra item 5840 nano filter extension (download the spec sheet from your link, its in the spares section) and put your purigen in there.

I found this video showing the set up of your filter and there is a brief mention of the extension where he suggests some biomedia or carbon in there.

https://youtu.be/XUOJble4SyU

https://www.u-buy.co.uk/catalog/product/view/id/10224371/s/dennerle-nano-filter-extention