Introducing new fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Emma91

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi there, I’m quite new to fish keeping having only been keeping fish for about 6 months or so. I recently upgraded to a 100Litre tank in which I’m currently keeping 4 Black Skirt Tetra and two Bristlenose catfish.

One of my friends is unfortunately having to give up her tank and has asked me if I would like to take her fish. She has two balloon mollies and 5 tiger barbs.

What I’m worried about is that I’ve heard the tiger barbs are aggressive towards Black Skirt Tetra. Is there a way I can introduce them so they won’t kill each other? Also would there be any issues with the mollies and the tetra?

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

Emma :)

Hi Emma

Black skirts and tiger barbs have a reputation for fin nipping. This is part of their normal behaviour as shoaling fish - within the shoal they will squabble and nip at each other to establish a pecking order. If kept in singles or just a couple of fish, they may nip at other fish to try and establish this order, often damaging more delicate or long finned fish in the process.

You have 4 skirts and five tigers, so you should be fine. All are fast enough to get away from one another and as a group, each shoal will look after its own, so to speak.

I always also consider that a reason for some aggression among 'community' fish, is that some would never naturally encounter each other, as they come from different parts of the world. However, despite this being the case with your fish here, the similar size and temperament of the fish should mean they will live happily together.

I would have no qualms about keeping them in the same aquarium