Is my UG filter causing my nitrates to be too high?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Thilligoss73

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have a question for some of the more experienced fish keepers out there. I have some experience with tanks, but mostly from when I was younger...20 years ago. Back then, I always used an undergravel filter. It was considered kind of a staple....it was standard. I've gotten back into fish keeping, and I guess I'm kind of still in that mindset of doing now what I used to do then, and have put an undergravel filter (powered by air-bubble lift tubes) in my 60 gallon. I also have two hang-on the back filters. This time around, I'm taking it abit more seriously than I did when I was 16, and have bought the water test kits, do water changes every other week, vacuum the gravel regularly, etc. I just did a water change, and tested my water right after. Everything was in order....PH-6.8 ammonia-0ppm nitrite 0ppm......but my nitrate was off the scale at 160ppm or higher! (160 ppm is the highest the scale would measure)I don't know how this can be that all my other numbers were in the good range, and my nitrates are through the roof! I've had several people suggest to me that it could be due to huge amounts of waste trapped under the plates of the UG filter, and theres nothing I can do about it but tear it down and take it out. Is this true? Am I going to have to tear down the whole tank and start over? Are there any other ways to get those nitrates down? I've had other people suggest that I can reduce them easliy by adding live plants to the tank, but I think that may add a whole level of tank keeping that I'm not prepared for!