Is "River Water" better?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

renosteinke

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am just getting started, and I truly appreciate all the experienced folks who take their time to answer simple, silly, or repetitive questions :)

Anyway, my 'long term plan' is to have a small indoor water garden, stocked with small goldfish. It has occurred to me that perhaps I ought to start off first, using a conventional aquarium.

I looked at the local pet supply store, and learned that ..... adding up all the bits and pieces ... starting a 10 gallon aquariun will cost me about $130. :(

Anyway .... can I 'speed up' getting the nitrate cycle started by using water direct from our local river? Is this a good idea?
(The river is flowing fast now, fed with fresh snowmelt. River is usually stocked with trout, and had "kuiwui," a native fish something like a cross between a catfish and a salmon. River is typically without much in the way of plant growth or algae).

1. Where are you located? I cannot believe that your local fish store (lfs) would suggest that a 10 gallon tank could be so much money. You can go to a Walmart and buy a kit with everything you need (10 gallon) for under $50 (not including a stand). You really don't need a "stand" per se. All you need is something that will support the weight of the tank which would be in the neighborhood of 80-90lbs. If you don't have a spare dresser or table, computer desk, etc. you may have to spend $20 for a cheap metal stand.