Is there silly questions? Refugium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

redchick2

Aquarium Advice Freak
Needless to say, I am VERY new to all this... (the shrimp would tell you so, if he could still talk) I have set up a 10 gallon to "get the feel" of a sw tank. I want to make sure I'm willing to do the water changes, run the tests, moniter the lights, etc. before I make a large financial investment. Anyway, here is my question: Can a 2 g tank be used as a refugium for a 10 g? Would it really be necessarry and have any benifits as small as it is? Is there a powerhead small enough not to blow all the water out of it too fast? Should I just wait till I get a larger tank and convert the 10 g into the refugium? My set up is pretty minimal right now: Have a hang on filter, the worlds smallest protien skimmer, nothing under the crushed coral. Inside the tank is a couple of live rocks, two of the "Texas Holey Rocks" (not authentic for sw, but still looks cool) choc. chip starfish, two hermits, a turban snail, an anemone, domino damsil (very psychotic) and two humbug damsils (the domino will probably kill them off soon). The lighting is two 25w actinics.

For starters, you shouldn't put an anemone in a new tank. What kind is it?
The domino damsel needs at least a 30G tank, the same with the 2 strip damsels. Fully grown, you will have around 12 inches of fish in a tiny area.
You may want to rethink the "Texas Holey Rock", as it could have heavy metals in it that may leech into your tank.
Smaller tanks leave less room for error and things can happen really quickly with that small amount of water volume.
My suggestion would be to take the damsels back (I assume you cycled your tank with them?) and the anemone and check out the link below for better critters for your tank:
Nano Fish
A 2G sump probably won't help much.