Lighting for 29g biocube sw

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LiiDsz

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey guys !!! so if you seen my others threads you would know that I'm a newbie to sw but I'm trying. I just notice that the actinic light is out I guess it busted but I also hear from post that the stock lights are the best to go with. I'm aiming for a reef tank I'm still in the cycle process but I would like to get everything up and ready so that in a couple of months when adding my fish and corals and what not everything is already prepared. I don't want to mod the hood or take it off and replace it with a fixture is there just a bulb I can get to replace that one that will be better for different type of coral ?

You might have better luck just asking what brand of 36 watt power compact bulbs people suggest using... I'd answer but I don't know myself. I just replaced the PC bulbs in my red sea max and went with the stock replacement ones.

Ditch the stock lighting and do either a retro DIY led kit or mod the good for led's. those power compacts aren't going to be able to sustain much and your gonna have some heat issues to deal with IMO.

I agree the LEDs would be better (PCs can sustain plenty though), but he already said he wanted to keep the hood and didn't want to mod it.

I agree the LEDs would be better (PCs can sustain plenty though), but he already said he wanted to keep the hood and didn't want to mod it.

Then your limited to what your gonna be able to keep. They make a ton of DIY led kits for the fm good for a reasons. The bio cube should rethink there lighting and come out with something good. I modded my hood and put in an AI SOL LED Fixture and keep whatever I want and no heat issues. Before I was floating ice cubes in a zip lock bag.