Lighting question for my 76!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mcass

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm thinking about making a change to the lighting in my 76 half round. Currently I have a 3' Coral Life fixture with a 10000k 31w T5 HO and an Acrylic 31w T5 HO. This is a freshwater cichlid tank which has a Jack Dempsey, a Gold Severum, a Livingstonii, and a Pleco. I have never felt that my current lighting was bright enough.

I'm an electrical contractor and just happened to have in my shop (3) 100w metal halide fixtures lying around. I've brought them home to possibly put in the tank. My question is should I find a way to add them to what I already have? Or should I do away with the Coal Life and go only with the (3) 100 watt metal halides? Or do I forget about the metal halides and just stick with the Coral Life fixture?

I do have plans eventually to turn this tank into a saltwater tank. That's away off but thought I'd throw this out there just in case it should play into the decision. Let me know your opinions!

I'm thinking about making a change to the lighting in my 76 half round. Currently I have a 3' Coral Life fixture with a 10000k 31w T5 HO and an Acrylic 31w T5 HO. This is a freshwater cichlid tank which has a Jack Dempsey, a Gold Severum, a Livingstonii, and a Pleco. I have never felt that my current lighting was bright enough.

I'm an electrical contractor and just happened to have in my shop (3) 100w metal halide fixtures lying around. I've brought them home to possibly put in the tank. My question is should I find a way to add them to what I already have? Or should I do away with the Coal Life and go only with the (3) 100 watt metal halides? Or do I forget about the metal halides and just stick with the Coral Life fixture?