Little help getting started

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Maniac1101

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So im new to this and messed up big right away didn't do any research and cycled my tank in about a week due to over population so im trying to start right and need a little help to get going maybe im just looking too far into it and over thinking it here it goes tho...

Ok I have a 10gal tank unknown brand handed down to me...

Aqueon quiteflow filter

Heater is automatic +-2 degrees of 78 degrees

If you need media or decorations let me know

Ok so I started this time with one marble molly he was in the tank for about 2 weeks with a red wag platty I have been treating the tank with a cycle kit containing the following
Microbe-lift Aquatic stress relief, special blend, and nite-out ll

Using api master freshwater test kit my ph is at 7.6 ammonia is at 2ppm nitrite is at 2ppm and nitrate is at 5ppm the molly has passed just today but I can't seem to get the cycle to finish any help would be appreciated very much for my sake and my finance she's about to kill me over this tank because im always checking and wondering about it

Thanks in advance

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Usually it works best to just let the tank cycle without any additives . This can take weeks. Don t add anymore fish until your readings are 0 ammonia , 0 nitrites & 10-20 nitrates. Then add fish slowly. Are you doing water changes?
Can t help with the GF :).

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Well I was told not to till about 4 weeks in but after reading a few posts and the guides from the main starter post im going to start pwc's tomorrow